Crystal Kay – After Love -First Boyfriend- feat. KANAME (CHEMISTRY) / Girlfriend feat. BoA

08/23/2009 at 7:51 PM | Posted in Crystal Kay | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

~Single~

Crystal Kay – After Love -First Boyfriend- feat. KANAME (CHEMISTRY) / Girlfriend feat. BoA

1. After Love -First Boyfriend- feat. KANAME (CHEMISTRY)

2. Girlfriend feat. BoA

3. Deaeta Kiseki

Sweeeeet! Finally, new music from Crystal Kay. I have been waiting quite patiently for this single and after listening to it I’m glad to say that CK did not disappoint me. I realize that it’s her 10th Anniversary and everything so I expected quite a long wait between Color Change! and some new material. Having said that, on with the review.

I really liked “After Love -First Boyfriend-” as soon as the song opened. The beat of the song is kind of mid paced and it kicks it up a little in the chorus. I did expect the chorus to be a bit… louder? I guess I’m just used to blaring chorus’. Although I quickly got uses to the song and really appreciated the simpler sound. I’m not too sure who KANAME is but his vocals are nice alongside Kay’s, although he mostly just provides background for the enitre song.

Score – 10

I knew BoA and Crystal Kay were friends but I never really expected a collaboration. BoA’s part in “Girlfriend” is much larger than KANAME’s is in After Love -First Boyfriend-. I really liked the two totally different singing styles that CK and BoA have to offer, and as different as they are, they flow good together. I really liked the message of the song as well.

Score – 8.5

“Deaeta Kiseki” is a really mellow song that, to me at least, was quite unexpected. The song still maintains an R&B vibe but there is just something different about it. Kay’s vocals are quite nice in the song and I really like the range she shows in the chorus.I think the music itself is what sets the song apart from other Crystal Kay tracks that I have heard and am used to.

Score – 8

Final Note

Overall I am pretty happy with this single and I can’t wait for her to release a new one.

Overall Rating

FullFullFullFullHalf

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

