Ayumi Hamasaki – You were… / BALLAD

12/28/2009 at 8:03 PM | Posted in Ayumi Hamasaki | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

~Single~

Ayumi Hamasaki – You were… / BALLAD

1. You were…

2. BALLAD

3. RED LINE ~for TA~

4. You were… (Music Box mix -retake version-)

5. Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~ (Orchestra version)

6. You were…(Instrumental)

7. BALLAD (Instrumental)

8. RED LINE ~for TA~ (Instrumental)

After much delay Ayumi Hamasaki finally releases another Double A-side single You were… / BALLAD. Naturally, given the season, it is of course Winter themed

“You were…” starts off very Winter/Christmas sounding with its assorted bells and piano. The high point of this up tempo ballad, the chorus, crashes in and features some nice strings. The sequence during the bridge, featuring prominent electric guitar, is what I loved the most.

Score – 9

“BALLAD” is a much softer ballad and it features some traditional eastern influences. I loved Ayumi’s strong, powerful and emotional vocals backed by sweeping strings. This song features a beautiful bridge which leads into strings and then back into the song. I also loved how fleeting the ending was.

Score – 10

“RED LINE ~for TA~” was a bit of a surprise. I really liked the structure of the song and it features a pretty different sound. I really loved the catchy chorus the most. For some reason I thought the “Lalalas” at the end really closed the song off nicely if only to make up for the abrupt ending.

Score – 10

I actually really liked the “Music Box mix -retake version-” of You were… and I didn’t think I would at first. It made the song seem a bit more tender which I thought was nice. I liked the winding sound used in the bridge and I absolutely loved the organ that came in in the end.

Score – 9

Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~ returns with an (Orchestra version). I thought this was a nice reworking of the song and really gave it a grand scale feel. Out of all the additional instruments I really liked the harp and horn that I heard.

Score – 9

Final Note

This single is solid, You were… is to be expected but it’s still good, BALLAD is just… amazing.*dies*

Overall Rating

FullFullFullFullFull

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

