Crystal Kay – Spin The Music

12/11/2010 at 4:48 PM | Posted in Crystal Kay | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

~Album~

Crystal Kay – Spin The Music

1. Journey ~Kimi to Futari de~

2. After Love -First Boyfriend- feat. KANAME (CHEMISTRY)

3. Konya wa No.1

4. Kimi ga Ireba

5. Time of Love

6. I pray

7. Goodbye

8. LOVE or GAME

9. Hands up

10. FLASH

11. Thank You For Talkin’ To Me Africa (Yellow Magic Orchestra feat. Crystal Kay)

12. I’ll be there

So here it is, a new Crystal Kay album, something I’ve been waiting for for quite a while. Considering how great FLASH was and the direction Crystal seemed to be going in, I had high expectations for this album.

Well, I just reviewed “Journey ~Kimi to Futari de~” so my opinion on that song remains largely unchanged. I actually like it a lot more than I did on my first few listens.

Score – 9

After Love -First Boyfriend-” was the first song from Crystal Kay I reviewed for the blog and it remains to be one of my all time favorite Crystal Kay songs.

Score – 10

The first new track on the album is “Konya wa No.1” which is a sexy, funky, and upbeat track. I couldn’t help but sometimes see parallels to Shakira’s She Wolf but I didn’t really mind. The beat is great and so is the bass and guitar.

Score – 8.5

“Kimi ga Ireba” is the start of 3 ballads in a row which felt kind of *yawn*. I thought it was pretty enough, the percussion against piano and Crystal’s smooth vocals worked well and I enjoyed the little Spanish influences here and there.

Score – 8

“Time of Love” is a more traditional ballad and it was apparently the theme song to the NHK drama “10-nen Saki mo Kimi ni Koishite” and it was placed on the album due to fan request. It was nice and all, but didn’t really feel any kind of extraordinary. Crystal’s vocals though, are great as always.

Score – 7

Finally “I pray” comes along and saves me. This song was featured on her mini album FLASH. I just fell in love with it and it has easily become one of my most favorite Crystal Kay songs.

Score – 10

“Goodbye” brings back a serious R&B sound. It’s a mid-tempo song with nice harmonizing vocals and piano that you might expect from an Alicia Keys songs. I guess I just got a somewhat generic feeling from it.

Score – 7

Wow, from generic to unique “LOVE or GAME” is just that. The song starts with sounds you might typically here at an arcade or maybe it’s pachinko? The sounds suddenly start meshing with beats as the song starts and Crystal starts singing. The other synths sound retro and were a really cool addition. Sometimes I wish the song was a little bit longer (maybe I just feel like that because the ending is a bit abrupt) but I guess it’s fine the way it is.

Score – 9.5

“Hands up” is R&B again and utilizes a repeating piano chord in the background and clapping. I liked it a lot more than Goodbye and thought it had a lot more going on.

Score – 8.5

FLASH” was the title track from Kay’s mini album and I thought it was an interesting change for her featuring a prominent electronic sound.

Score – 9

“Thank You For Talkin’ To Me Africa” is a cover of a song originally by Sly And The Family Stone. It seems to be the original set to Crystal’s vocals. The song itself is a really classic 70’s, heavy funk song and Crystal vocals really work well here. Not a song I’m typically a fan of but it’s still a good song nonetheless.

Score – 8

The final track is “I’ll be there” which no, is not a cover of the Jackson 5 song of the same name (that’s what I was expecting it to be) It’s a slow song featuring soft percussion and piano. I liked the calm atmosphere the song creates along with Crystal’s flawless vocals. I’m impressed but not amazed, although it was a good ending track.

Score – 8.5

Final Note

Spin The Music feels like a fitting title as it is definitely a mixed bag. The whole release in general felt a little lazy and I think the new tracks in general just weren’t that great, with the exception of LOVE or GAME and maybe Konya wa No.1 and Hands up. Altogether I was slightly disappointed with this album. The tracks didn’t suck, but they just didn’t really leave that strong of an impression. I think she needs to somehow step it up next time.

Overall Rating

FullFullFullFullEmpty

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. LOVE or GAME is definitely my favorite track on the album. CK’s my girl but I think it would have helped to have a little less balladry. I have a feeling she is very eager to leave the Japanese scene (Sony) for a good while. Wishful thinking?

    • I agree, too many ballads can really kill an album.

      This album was alright but Color Change! and FLASH were so good and this just pales in comparison. Maybe she just needs to switch labels.

  2. I was pretty disappointed with this album. FLASH and the bonus tracks on her Best Of album were awesome so I was expecting something amazing here but it just didn’t happen. I’m glad ‘I pray’ was included though, it’s one of my fave CK tracks also.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

