Koda Kumi – Dejavu

06/08/2011 at 3:31 PM | Posted in Koda Kumi | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

~Album~

Koda Kumi – Dejavu

1. Prologue to Dejavu

2. POP DIVA

3. Lollipop

4. Okay

5. Aitakute

6. Passing By

7. AT THE WEEKEND

8. Interlude to Dejavu

9. Melting

10. Hey Baby!

11. Choi Tashi Life

12. Anata Dake ga

13. Suki de, Suki de, Suki de.

14. Bambi

15. I Don’t Love You !?

Koda Kumi’s 9th album was released quite a while ago and yes, I’m only getting to review it now. Better late than never I suppose. But I kind of wish I wasn’t. Read on to find out why…

“Prologue to Dejavu” is a short intro that sounds pretty cool and features Koda singing “Why won’t you come with me to my Dejavu?” in English. It starts off creepy and mysterious sounding but then it eventually evolves and blends seamlessly into POP DIVA. Somewhat cool, but felt a little tacked on.

Score – 7.5

POP DIVA” is Kumi’s most recent single. It’s loud and in your face and I think I’ve grown to like it a little more since a first reviewed it.

Score – 8.5

From her summer themed maxi single Gossip Candy comes “Lollipop“.

Score – 8.5

“Okay” is our first real new track of the album. It’s a mid-tempo Hip-Pop-like track featuring a thumping beat and the occasional computerized vocal. There a part of the chorus that sounds kind of good but I feel as if the song itself falls a bit short.

Score – 7

“Aitakute” is a mid tempo smooth sounding ballad. The song is pretty slow although the chorus manages to pick things up a little bit featuring acoustics, breathy/high vocals from Kumi. The bits of strings featured through the song sound great and I wish there was a bit more. Like Okay, I feel as if it just falls a bit short.

Score – 7

“Passing By” features a  singer/producer named B. Howard who of course sings in English and Kumi occasionally sings along with him. It’s another mid tempo ballad-like song that has a really solemn atmosphere along with the lyrics. I feel it’s a decent song overall but it really failed to capture me.

Score – 8

“AT THE WEEKEND” is a pumping club-like track that features some elements of synth-pop especially in the chorus. It’s quite a short song and it doesn’t feel like it has a lot of substance but I suppose a quick in your face track was kind of the point.

Score – 7

“Interlude to Dejavu” seems to pick up right from the mystery that is the beginning of Intro to Dejavu. Actually, it really sounds exactly like the intro, except it doesn’t lead into anything.

Score – 7

“Melting”, an incredibly cute, tooth-ache inducing, winter-ish pop track featuring a decent beat backed by quick acoustic guitar. Sometimes I felt like it was a little too brazen, like, too much going on at once, especially during the chorus although I like the way Kumi sings it.

Score – 7.5

“Hey Baby” was a digital single that I naturally didn’t review. When it first started off with a mix bag of sounds I was really unsure about it, especially since Kumi’s vocals didn’t seem to fit, but then the chorus hit. It’s really quick, in your face and pumps things up a bit. I really like the way Kumi shouts “Hey Baby! Hey Baby!” during it as well. Unfortunately it’s the only redeeming part of the song which is fine because at 2:35 it is incredibly short.

Score – 7.5

“Choi Tashi Life” started off like it was going to sound like at least 3 of the songs I’ve already listened to on this album but then bam Kumi starts singing and thankfully it’s a bit different. Kumi’s vocals are really fast throughout the song but it’s only in the chorus that the music picks up to match and I really like it. Didn’t really care for the 8-bit-y sound in the bridge.

Score – 7.5

Coming off of her double A-side ballad single is “Anata Dake ga” which I’ve realized manages to be a bit better than Suki de, Suki de, Suki de. I kind of thought that before, but I think so even more now.

Score – 9

Speak of the devil “Suki de, Suki de, Suki de.” is next. Once again, I love the acoustics and Kumi’s emotional vocals.\

Score – 8

FINALLY! “Bambi” is absolutely awesome and has a sound all it’s own. It’s incredibly fun and has just the right amount of attitude going but at the same time it manages to be a really cute song. A cool contrast is the slightly grunge-ish sounding electric guitar in the background throughout the song.

Score – 9.5

“I Don’t Love You !?” closes off the album on a better, yet still slightly mediocre note. There is a certain something about the fast paced chorus that I really liked though. It definitely improves my opinion on the song overall. At the same time I feel there’s not too much to say about it

Score – 8

Final Note

At first, I thought the fact that the album is called Dejavu didn’t make sense but now I get it. She’s trying to repeat past success rather than be innovative. I feel like this album could have sounded a lot better as the singles tracks were really great. The album tracks? Um… there was Bambi! And… that’s about it… I’m kind of disappointed in Dejavu to be honest. If I could, I would have given this album a slightly lower rating.

Overall Rating

FullFullFullFullEmpty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

