MiChi – ONE

07/17/2011 at 9:49 PM | Posted in MiChi | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

~Single~

MiChi – ONE

1. ONE

2. LiFE CLOCK

3. DON’T DREAM IT’S OVER

4. YEAH YEAH YEAH!!!

The title song of this single ONE was quickly (kinda) released ahead of time in light of the earthquake and tsunami in Japan. It wasn’t completely done but judging by that I think you can guess the kind of tone this song has.

“ONE” is meant to be a fast paced, uplifting, inspirational track. The beat is great along with the synths and I did like the fast lyrics, though they are drawn out in the chorus making the chorus kind of a let down as it is more understated than the rest of the song is. I was a little disappointed by it. I really liked the calmed down bridge section, followed by MiChi vocalizing and whispering. The little bit of piano and strings right at the end was a nice touch.

Score – 8.5

“LiFE CLOCK” starts off with a clock ticking away and a baby crying, how fitting. Immediately I really liked the atmosphere created by the continuation of the ticking, some percussion and acoustic guitar. It too feels like an uplifting song but it’s a bit more B-side sounding, but it’s not bad by any stretch. As I said I like the atmosphere but it didn’t leave too big an impression on me.

Score – 7.5

“DON’T DREAM IT’S OVER” is of course a cover of the song originally by Crowded House. It’s very acoustic and gives the song a sound I haven’t really heard before. I’d say it’s a pretty good cover and MiChi did the song justice, although I’ll always say that my favorite version of this song is by Sixpence None the Richer.

Score – 7

Of course I don’t care for the remix of “Yeah Yeah Yeah!!!” because, well, it’s a remix. It also seems really lazy for a remix too. In all honesty I really like YEAH YEAH YEAH!!! a lot more now than when I first reviewed it and listening to this remix just makes me want to stop it and start playing the original.

Score – 6

Final Note

Decent single overall and great for the times.

Overall Rating

FullFullFullHalfEmpty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

