Perfume – JPN

12/15/2011 at 5:38 PM | Posted in Perfume | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

~Album~

Perfume – JPN

1. The Opening

2. Laser Beam (Album Mix)

3. GLITTER (Album Mix)

4. Natural ni Koishite

5. MY COLOR

6. Toki no Hari

7. Nee

8. Kasuka na Kaori

9. 575

10. VOICE

11. Kokoro no Sports

12. Have a Stroll

13. Fushizen na Girl

14. Spice

Sorry this is so late… OH WELL.

“The Opening” is fairly nice, it starts off pretty mellow and loungy sounding, something you feel like you could relax too. Some other synths start to creep in as it goes on and it builds and includes a really weird, kinda of creepy person speaking(?) in the background. As it closes, it goes back to the way it started, and as I preferred it.

Score – 7.5

The “Album Mix” of Laser Beam kind of… detracts from the song a bit. A lot of skipping and other effects are added throughout the song but it really didn’t sound that great. I would have preferred it if they had just left it alone.

Score – 7

The “Album Mix” of GLITTER fares a bit better with me but I’m still going to go and say that I vastly prefer the original. And since I literally JUST reviewed it I’m going to leave it at that.

Score – 9

I always really liked “Natural ni Koishite” and would even go so far as to say it’s one of my favorite Perfume songs thus far. It’s cute sounding with overdoing it, and somehow does feel simple, natural if you will.

Score – 9

Instantly, I really liked the atmosphere and overall melody of “MY COLOR” the album’s first new track. The synths are fairly powerful and thumping throughout yet they didn’t feel brazen over overpowering. The song keeps a decent pace although perhaps a little slow by Perfume standards, however it didn’t get boring for me. I guess if I could say anything about it, I would say this song has great balance.

Score – 9

“Toki no Hari” is another new track and it’s really quite subdued for a Perfume song, not to mention it’s full of natural instruments. The girls are singing in extra cutesy sounding voices as the tiniest bit of percussion accompany them, also, at 2:30 the song is incredibly short. It’s quite the departure but in my opinion a welcome one, I like when they do this occasionally.

Score – 7.5

Next up is “Nee” which over time my opinion of it has gotten better. When I heard it for the first few times I thought it was the most annoying thing ever, but really, now it’s OK.

Score – 8.5

I always really liked “Kasuka na Kaori” it had the proper dosage of everything and kind of stood out to me as the better track off of the Laser Beam / Kasuka na Kaori single.

Score – 8.5

Yet again, another song that I really liked is “575“. The song is different in just the right ways. The chorus is where the song really shines. Kashiyuka’s rap can’t be missed either! I’ve learned to live with what I didn’t like about it before, though it still loses some points because of those things

Score – 8

VOICE” was in fact fairly typical, though looking back, I think I was a bit too harsh on it, it’s really not as bad and or boring as I originally thought it was.

Score – 7.5

“Kokoro no Sports” kinda just sounds OK at first, but then it builds up a little right before the chorus and it sounds pretty nice, what’s great is the actual chorus right after that which ends up being pretty good and actually pretty catchy. Again, I feel like this is one of those Perfume songs that are just a little bit different enough, different enough to work.

Score – 8.5

“Have a Stroll” ends up sounding a little, tiny bit boring, at first, though the chorus has this strange, can’t put my finger on  it kind of sound going on. It almost seems a bit throwback and I’m thinking 70’s here… I could be crazy though.

Score – 7.5

Always got a classic, throwback pop sound from “Fushizen na Girl” and I still think that. It’s a pretty good song, though I think Natural ni Koishite is better 😛

Score – 8

Even though “Spice” sounded a bit repetitive to me at times, in the bad way, I still managed to like it well enough. Though I think it’s placing as an ending track is a little odd…

Score – 8

Final Note

Overall the album ends up feeling a little lazy due to the fact that there are only 4 new songs on it, it ends up being a bit of a disappointment. The only real good thing is that the single tracks are good enough, though I will say that doesnt’ carry an album. Next time I’ll be hoping for more album tracks.

Overall Rating

FullFullFullFullEmpty

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Toki no Hari, a 7.5? Lord have mercy, I just can’t.

    • You need to relax yourself, boy.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

