Namie Amuro – Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! / Love Story

12/23/2011 at 3:46 PM | Posted in Namie Amuro | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

~Single~

Namie Amuro – Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! / Love Story

1. Sit! Stay! Wait! Down!

2. Love Story

3. Higher

4. arigatou <thank the world for LOVE… gift song for 2011>

5. Sit! Stay! Wait! Down! (Instrumental)

6. Love Story (Instrumental)

7. Higher (Instrumental)

There’s just something about “Sit! Stay! Wait! Down!” that I really. Like from the versus to the lead up into the chorus, and the chorus itself of course the song has a lot of variety in it. The whole thing flows incredibly well and transitions between everything are done well, altogether the song feels very cohesive. The thumping beat during the chorus is addictive and especially catchy. The lyrics, which include her actually saying “Sit! Stay! Wait! Down!” as well as “Good boy” as if commanding a dog, but I’m sure she’s probably commanding a man here, were a fun touch.

Score – 9.5

Things come to a halt upon the beginning of “Love Story” which I’m sure you realized from the title is a ballad. It features prominent piano, acoustic guitar and some snapping. I wasn’t really interested in it overall, though the chorus manages to carry the song a bit. I’d hate to say that it ended up feeling a bit forgettable but it kind of did.

Score – 7.5

Naturally, things get pumped back up with “Higher”. It’s a really electric song. I was kind of disappointed because while the song kind of goes electric/ethereal during the chorus (which I tend to love) it sounded like it was building towards something better the whole time but never really went anywhere. Though don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed the chorus, the sound of voice as she sings “Take me Higher” was great.

Score – 8.5

Again things get slowed down a bit for “arigatou” which is another ballad but this one had a bit more beat to it. I can’t help but feel I hear a little bit of HANABI by Ayumi Hamasaki in some of the melody, just an observation, doesn’t matter much. The song just ends up seeming exceedingly average, and again, I found it to be a little forgettable. My favorite Namie ballad still manages to be Meaning Of Us and it doesn’t look like Love Story or arigatou are going to change that any time soon.

Score – 7.5

Final Note

I tend to like both fast and slow songs, but this time, I was completely bored by the slow, and totally turned onto the fast.

Overall Rating

FullFullFullFullEmpty

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

