Namie Amuro – Go Round / YEAH-OH

03/28/2012 at 11:00 AM | Posted in Namie Amuro | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

~Single~

Namie Amuro – Go Round / YEAH-OH

1. Go Round

2. YEAH-OH

3. Go Round (Instrumental)

4. YEAH-OH (Instrumental)

OK, I’m just going to say what everyone else is thinking, this girl needs to release her next album already. Let’s be honest with each other. This single will make 9 A-sides released before a proper album. Who does she think she is? Ayu?

“Go Round” starts off with some clapping and stomping along with some pretty nice beats. When Namie starts singing a funky guitar plays in the background almost unnoticeable but it was a good addition. The chorus is super catchy and really brings the song up to another level. The synths kind of had this dark tone to them I felt, but they made sense with the song as a whole. Go Round is super short and while I wish it went on for longer. It was one of those where I was repeating it because it was good, but also because I felt like I hadn’t heard it enough, if that makes sense.

Score – 8.5

“YEAH-OH” ends up feeling a little similar to Go Round but with a little more of a darker tone to it both in the synths and Namie’s singing. However, at the same time, it seems more like a dance song than anything which I liked. It never really lets up and builds up perfectly to a pretty good chorus ending with a catchy ” We’re singing YEAH-OH, singing YEAH-OH”. Incidentally I was reminded of a few recent and popular American R&B songs when I listened to this. Again, as with Go Round, this song is short and I kind of wanted more from it once it ended.

Score – 9

Final Note

Good songs but I’m left wanting more, and above all else, a freakin’ album already.

Overall Rating

FullFullFullFullEmpty

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey,
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while, but this is my first time commenting. Just wanted to show my appreciation for your reviews.

    I agree completely that both songs are a bit short, particularly Go Round. I wish the breakdown/ bridge was a bit longer. But it’s very catchy nonetheless as is YEAH-OH, which I also prefer between the two. It’s very familiar and nothing innovative, but I like the high energy. It always manages to get me pumped when I listen to it. I can’t help but trash an imaginary weave to it LOL

    I look forward to your review on Therapy. It’s a solid follow up to Up To You that showcases a more mature MiChi.

    • Aw thanks, that means a lot to me 🙂

      I know exactly what you mean xD

      I’ll have Therapy up on Wednesday, at first I REALLY wasn’t feeling it, well you’ll see lol Thanks again

      • No problem!, and I think I know what you mean. The singles that preceded the album were sort of lackluster, and the track list was dominated heavily by older songs. Therapy is one of those albums that you have to warm up to after repeated listens; it doesn’t really hit you straight away like Up To You does. Also, all of the new songs are great, and they definitely make up for the older songs and weak singles.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

